Posts by colorsound

Welcome to UKHIppy2764@2x.png

UKHippy is a long running online community and of likeminded people exploring all interpretations on what it means to be living an alternative lifestyle -- we welcome discussions on everything related to sustainability, the environment, alternative spirituality, music, festivals, politics and more -- membership of this website is free but supported by the community.

This is a beautiful thread, thanks for all of the posts.
    Although I have always had fantasies about living outside, fantasies about colours and patterns, and a deeper way of thinking, this is the reason I am not equipped to go travelling. (It's a story called "Red shoes" and it
    In my 30's I read a book called "Women who run with wolves" which uses ancient stories from around the world to mirror a womans consciousness with nature.
    I was a late developer and i did not understand the metaphorical way the book was written, and it was only to be, that years later I would understand.

To me, a traveller needs his/her instincts in tact.

I would like some feedback on a question I have please regarding nomadic living.

I am a forty five year old woman, non-driver, no transport with an income of just over £100 per week and no other savings/income.
    This woman has never travelled and is not streetwise at all.
    This woman would want accomodation.

Could this woman do the travelling lifestyle?
    What problems would she encounter?
    What kind of accommodation could she arrange for herself, with that income.
    Any other suggestions.

At the moment, I am just entertaining thoughts. Although I am not streetwise and have never had the camping/van/boat lifestyle, I have always fantasised about gypsies, and loved all of the canal towpaths I have visited.