Welcome to UKHIppy2764@2x.png

UKHippy is a long running online community and of likeminded people exploring all interpretations on what it means to be living an alternative lifestyle -- we welcome discussions on everything related to sustainability, the environment, alternative spirituality, music, festivals, politics and more -- membership of this website is free but supported by the community.

• Hi, so I'm pretty new to all this stuff, like posting, commenting and speaking my mind online.

Been living off grid most of my life apart from 4 years in a house from when I was 38 (not for me) I brought a 73 Sipson Showman's some years back and haul it with an old FireTruck. Live around Sussex and have a bit of a work circuit doing maintenance and construction jobs. Enjoy the steam fairs and maybe just maybe I will take my home to Europe some time if I can find some work along the way.

Oh my name.. My name is Paul.

• Hi Paul and welcome aboard. Your rigs sounds comforting. Plenty of opportunity with both units. I once toyed with the idea of “saving” a showmans trailer, parked on a farm we visited to buy hay in winter. It stood there many years, 6 + years before I came across it. Contacted the owner first opportunity. He showed no hurry to use or sell it. Even though I explained it was in need of covering over, sealing up. Farmer would have been happy to get his yard less crowded. Over the next 4 years the roof was breached with rain. Panelling around mirrors and ceilings were now exposed and in need of some restoration. I was eventually told he had a steam roller in one of the other barns. So obviously I wouldn’t get to buy just the showmans and save restore it for a song.