You don't know what you've got until it's gone

• A hot shower, for Obvious reaSONS.

Other than that, nothing.

Oh!, my records but they will be coming wIth me next year in the new truck.

Im only about 8 weeks in, this isn't my first time living on the road but its my first time with no get out clause or saftey net.

I thought i would miss things, im not sure what I thought I would miss but it turns out i havent missed a thing.

Things seem to take longer to do in a van but thats ok, i have it easy just now as i can get all the free wood and water i want every day from work. Ask me again im febuary about that one when im not working.

The dog seems to like being nomadic as she gets to play in new places almost every day

• No not really miss living in a house.

Not having a big bath and bathroom and a plumbed in washing machine I guess but ive lived like this 10 years so far and 7 when i was younger including on a boat,you just get used to doing stuff differently and not needing stuff you at first think you cant possibly do without.

Only thing i seriously miss about any property is not having a garden to grow my own veg and not having a huge garage to work on my vehicles in the dry.

Non are essential though...The more you have the more hassle it is.

• funny, but one of my perceived essentials was TV. We bought one, and it's barely been out of the box. I haven't missed it.

I also wanted access to a flushing toilet. Not in the van, that would be really unrealistic, just on site somewhere. Now I am happy to make use of a loo wherever I see one, or wee in a bush.

Here on site we have a chemical loo, but I mostly go to the top field to avoid emptying the loo too often. ;)

• I think when youve lived like it for a while you quickly realise how little of your old way of life you actually need or is of any benefit to you.