Stealth Camping In London/Questions!!!

Welcome to UKHIppy2764@2x.png

UKHippy is a long running online community and of likeminded people exploring all interpretations on what it means to be living an alternative lifestyle -- we welcome discussions on everything related to sustainability, the environment, alternative spirituality, music, festivals, politics and more -- membership of this website is free but supported by the community.

• Hi everyone,

this is my first post and i'd like to supplicate any experienced London van dwellers/users for some help. Im very new to this idea, and have never owned any vehicle in London, so please be patient..

So i'm planning on converting a luton van (either an Iveco Daily or a Ford Transit) into an off grid home on wheels with the aim to stealth camp and work in London. The more research I do, the trickier things seem to get, but i'm certain that theres a way to make it sustainable, or i'll have have fun trying at least.

The first thing I'm trying to get my head around is insuring the van.

Im planning to make the van as discreet as possible to - any exterior modifications needed can go on the roof, out of sight. Obviously, doing this will mean I can't insure it as a motorhome. I'd like to know what are the possible complications/ramifications of insuring the van under my Dads address in Southampton and living in it in London (obviously at least 5 times less £££). Alternatively, if I do choose to fulfil the requirements needed to register the converted van as a motorhome and submit that i'll be living in the van full time, how do they calculate the insurance, and will it be comparable to the amount I would pay anyway?

The second thing I was pondering was if i'm parking on residential roads/parking lots (especially if its a narrow residential road) overnight and the van is too wide for the space, could I get fined?