Contemplating what it would be like to live in a van....

Welcome to UKHIppy2764@2x.png

UKHippy is a long running online community and of likeminded people exploring all interpretations on what it means to be living an alternative lifestyle -- we welcome discussions on everything related to sustainability, the environment, alternative spirituality, music, festivals, politics and more -- membership of this website is free but supported by the community.

• I have never done it before, but the idea seems very cool. I'd personally not want to live in the UK in a van, I would have to be travelling in Europe or even in the UK. You know so not so much just living in the same old place in a van, I feel holed up in there already.

But there's a lot to think about. Life in general.

I looked at my van tonight and thought if I was to do it for now, because rent and bills betting too much, I thought where would I park tonight if I had to.

How do you folk find it, is every night like some crazy mission impossible or do you just park where you please and deal with anything should it arise? In fact how often do situations arise be it locals, guards, police, wild man eating bears and even aliens? :eek:

• from the experience of friends of mine who live in vans, you can get away with a day or two or three in one place but eventually you get moved on, police get involved etc.etc.
    Somerset got very paranoid about "travellers" so all the stopping places, layby's etc all now have stonking great boulders blocking them.